INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING AN ASSUMED NAME CERTIFICATE
WITH THE SECRETARY OF STATE
(Form 503)

  • Commentary: Any corporation, limited partnership, limited liability partnership, or limited liability company that regularly conducts business or renders professional services under an assumed name is required to file an assumed name certificate with the secretary of state. An assumed name is any name used by the entity other than the name stated in its organizational documents or application for registration on file with the secretary of state.

     

  • Web Form and Content: The web form promulgated by the secretary of state is designed to meet minimum statutory filing requirements and no warranty is made regarding the suitability of this form for any particular purpose. This form and the information provided are not substitutes for the advice of an attorney and it is recommended that the services of an attorney be obtained before preparation of the assumed name certificate.

     

  • During the web filing process, you will be directed from screen to screen to provide certain variable information with which to populate the form. After entry of the information, a document image will be displayed for your review. Please review the document carefully for accuracy since section 71.203 of the Texas Business & Commerce Code provides that a person commits an offense under section 37.10 of the Penal Code if the person signs a document the person knows is false in any material respect with the intent that the document be delivered to the secretary of state for filing. In addition, a person commits an offense under section 4.008 of the Texas Business Organizations Code if the person signs or directs the filing of a filing instrument the person knows is materially false with the intent that the instrument be delivered to the secretary of state for filing. The offense is a Class A misdemeanor unless the person’s intent is to harm or defraud another, in which case the offense is a state jail felony.
  • Fee: The statutory fee of $25 must be submitted (Texas Business & Commerce Code, section 71.155(b)). Payments for web filings may be made by credit card or client account. Selection of the payment method is performed during the subscriber login process. Fees paid by credit card are subject to a statutorily authorized convenience fee of 2.7% of the total fees. To view the available balance in your client account, select the Account tab from the navigation bar and select "Client Account Statements" from the Account Maintenance Menu.
  • Assumed Name Screen: The assumed name of the entity should be entered on this screen.
  • Period of Use Screen: The period that the assumed name will be used is entered on this screen. The period can be entered as a term of years or a date. The term of years cannot be more than 10 years. Enter only the number of years. You do not need to enter the word "year" or the abbreviation for year. If you enter a date, the date cannot be more than 10 years from the date of the submission of the assumed name certificate. For example, if you submit the document for filing on September 1, 2019, the date entered cannot be after September 1, 2029.
  • County Designation Screen: The assumed name certificate must designate the county or counties in which the entity will conduct business or render services under the assumed name. You may designate all counties by selecting the radio button indicating "ALL." Otherwise, select the radio button "ONLY SELECTED COUNTIES" and then highlight the name or names of the specific county or counties where the assumed name will be used. To select multiple counties, hold down the Control Key on your keyboard (or the Command key if using a Macintosh) as you click on each county.
  • Principal Office Address Screen: The assumed name certificate must state the street or mailing address of the entity’s principal office. You must enter data for all required fields.
  • Execution Screen: An authorized officer or other duly authorized representative of the entity must sign the assumed name certificate. An officer or duly authorized representative signs the electronic document by typing the person's name and title in the field provided. For example, Jane Esquire, President of Texas, Inc. Or, John Esquire, General Partner of Texas, LP.
  • Document Display Screen: After completing the entry screens, the system will display an image of the document for purposes of your review. Please review the document carefully as secretary of state personnel cannot edit the electronic document submitted for review. If the document must be corrected, then click on the “Edit Filing” button to return to the entry screens. Do not use the Back button on your browser.

    If you wish to retain a copy of the document you are submitting, use the printer function of your browser to print the screen. After clicking on the “Submit Filing” button, you will receive a message confirming receipt of the filing that contains the session ID and the document tracking number of the document transmitted. You may wish to attach the receipt notice to your retained copy.